17 12 2012

Thank your for your encourgeing words. I’m learning not to compare myself with others, which I have done most of my life.

Heart to Heart Journey

A lethal word. Compare. Doesn’t it just make you cringe?

com·pare

[kuhm-pair] verb, com·pared,com·par·ing, noun

1. to examine (two or more objects, ideas, people, etc.) in order to note similarities and differences:

I lived most of my life playing the comparison game.

Only it’s really not a game – is it?

For me – it infected every relationship. Unable to be at ease in any friendship or interaction with others, I constantly fell short. In my late teens and early twenties when I met other young women I was constantly on guard when my boyfriend was near. If she was beautiful, funny and energetic the insecurity became unbearable. Even if I respected the young woman, she was a threat.  Once I was married the roots of comparison grew deeper.

I was in bondage to measuring myself against another. Bondage I carried with me for many years. I didn’t ask anyone…

View original post 341 more words

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

